

Shirley Jefferson Patti Pallito Mary Alice McKenzie Allison Crowley DeMag John Filipek

State of Vermont
State Police Advisory Commission
Department of Public Safety
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671-2101

## MINUTES September 26, 2019

The State Police Advisory Commission meeting was opened at approximately 1:30pm by Nancy Goss Sheahan, Chair, with the following in attendance:

## **Commission Members:**

Present: Nancy Goss Sheahan, Chair; Glenn Boyde, Vice Chair; Shirley Jefferson (by phone), Allison Crowley DeMag (by phone), John Filipek

Others Attending: Commissioner Michael E. Schirling; Colonel Matthew T. Birmingham, Director, Vermont State Police, Lieutenant Robert McKenna, Director of Internal Affairs

The Commission members expressed their appreciation for Commissioner Thomas Anderson's service and welcomed new Commissioner Michael Schirling.

Chair entertains a motion to accept the June 6, 2019 minutes. So moved by Shirley Jefferson and seconded by John Filipek and Glenn Boyde. All in favor, none opposed.

Floor was opened for public comment. No one from the public was present.

Chair entertains a motion to go into executive session to discuss records of the office of internal investigations, including new and miscellaneous IA cases of the Department of Public Safety. So moved by John Filipek and seconded by Glenn Boyde.

Closed session: 1:32pm

Open session: 2:56pm

The next State Police Advisory Commission meeting was set for December 11, 2019 at 1:30pm after the commission decided that Wednesday meetings will be better that Thursday meetings in the future.

With no further business, a motion was entertained by Nancy Goss Sheahan for the meeting to be adjourned. So moved by John Filipek and seconded by Shirley Jefferson. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 3:00pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Carr

**Executive Assistant**