

State of Vermont
State Police Advisory Commission
Department of Public Safety
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671-2101

Shirley Jefferson Mary Alice McKenzie Allison Crowley DeMag John Filipek

## MINUTES March 10, 2021

The State Police Advisory Commission meeting was held via the Microsoft Teams application during the COVID-19 pandemic and was opened at approximately 1:33pm by Nancy Goss Sheahan, Chair. The following members were in attendance:

## **Commission Members:**

Present: Nancy Goss Sheahan, Chair; Glenn Boyde, Vice Chair; Shirley Jefferson, John Filipek

Others Attending: Commissioner Michael E. Schirling; Colonel Matthew T. Birmingham, Director, Vermont State Police, Lieutenant Robert McKenna, Director of Internal Affairs

Chair entertains a motion to accept the January 11, 2021 minutes. So moved by Glenn Boyde and seconded by Shirley Jefferson. All in favor, none opposed.

Chair entertains a motion to accept the January 13, 2021 minutes. So moved by Shirley Jefferson and seconded by John Filipek.

Floor was opened for public comment. No members from the public were present.

Chair entertains a motion to go into executive session to discuss records of the office of internal investigations, including new and miscellaneous IA cases of the Department of Public Safety. So moved by John Filipek and seconded by Glenn Boyde.

Closed session: 1:36pm Open session: 2:54pm

Chair recognized that a quorum was lost at the end of the executive session with the absence of Shirley Jefferson, who was called to other responsibilities. Chair also recognized the approaching retirement of Major Ingrid Jonas, and the resignation of Patti Pallito from the State Police Advisory Commission after Ms. Pallito accepted a job outside the State of Vermont. She and members of the State Police Advisory Commission thanked both women for their years of service. The next meeting of the State Police Advisory Commission was set for May 12, 2021 at 1:30pm.

With no further business, a motion was entertained by Nancy Goss Sheahan for the meeting to be adjourned. So moved by John Filipek and seconded by Glenn Boyde. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 2:56pm.

Respectfully submitted,

