

State of Vermont
State Police Advisory Commission
Department of Public Safety
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671-2101

MINUTES January 26, 2022

The State Police Advisory Commission meeting was held via the Microsoft Teams application during the COVID-19 pandemic and was opened at approximately 1:36pm by Nancy Goss Sheahan, Chair. The following members were in attendance:

Commission Members:

Present: Nancy Goss Sheahan, Chair; Glenn Boyde, Vice Chair; John Filipek, Mary Alice McKenzie, Allison Crowley

Others Attending: Commissioner Michael Schirling, Colonel Matthew T. Birmingham, Director, Vermont State Police, Lieutenant Robert McKenna, Director of Internal Affairs, General Counsel for the Department of Public Safety, Rosemary Gretkowski

Chair entertains a motion to accept the November 17, 2021 minutes. So moved by Glenn Boyde and seconded by John Filipek. All in favor, none opposed.

Floor was opened for public comment. No members from the public were present.

Chair entertains a motion to go into executive session to discuss records of the office of internal investigations, including new and miscellaneous IA cases of the Department of Public Safety. So moved by Allison Crowley and seconded by Glenn Boyde. All in favor, none opposed.

Closed session: 1:36pm Open session: 2:41pm

Chair asked for an update regarding the reappointment of current SPAC members and the filling of the currently vacant seat. Commissioner Schirling responded that both of these were in process.

Vice Chair asked if the current Race Data could be made available to SPAC. Colonel Birmingham responded that he would ensure this data be available during the next meeting.

The next meeting of the State Police Advisory Commission was set for March 30, 2022 at 1:30pm.

With no further business, a motion was entertained by Nancy Goss Sheahan for the meeting to be adjourned. So moved by Allison Crowley and seconded by John Filipek. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 2:42pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Carr, Executive Assistant

Shirley Jefferson Mary Alice McKenzie Allison Crowley John Filipek