

State of Vermont
State Police Advisory Commission
Department of Public Safety
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671-2101

MINUTES April 26, 2023

The State Police Advisory Commission meeting was held in person and via the Microsoft Teams application during the COVID-19 pandemic and was opened at approximately 1:34 pm by Nancy Goss Sheahan, Chair. The following members were in attendance:

Commission Members:

Present: Nancy Goss Sheahan, Chair; Glenn Boyde, Vice Chair; John Filipek, June Heston, and Mary Alice McKenzie

Others Attending: Commissioner Jennifer Morrison, Colonel Matthew T. Birmingham, Director, Vermont State Police, Lieutenant Robert McKenna, Director of Internal Affairs

Chair entertains a motion to accept the March 29, 2023 minutes. So moved by June Heston and seconded by John Filipek. All in favor, none opposed.

Chair entertains a motion to accept the April 4, 2023 minutes. So moved by Glenn Boyde and seconded by June Heston. All in favor, none opposed.

Floor was opened for public comment. Marie O'Brien was present and requested that an internal investigation be opened into the use of force by troopers during the arrest of her son, Derek Bristol on May 21, 2022. Members of SPAC questioned Ms. O'Brien and watched a video that depicted a portion of the use of force, which had previously been submitted to the Office of Internal Affairs by Ms. O'Brien. Ms. O'Brien was the only member of the public present and while she was escorted back to the lobby of VSP Headquarters, the record was paused for approximately three minutes.

Chair entertains a motion to go into executive session to discuss records of the office of internal investigations. So moved by John Filipek and seconded by Mary Alice McKenzie. All in favor, none opposed.

Closed session: 2:00 pm Open session: 2:43 pm

The next meeting of the State Police Advisory Commission was set for June 21, 2023 at 1:30pm.

With no further business, a motion was entertained by Nancy Goss Sheahan for the meeting to be adjourned. So moved by June Heston and seconded by Mary Alice McKenzie. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 2:45 pm.

Shirley Jefferson Mary Alice McKenzie Allison Crowley John Filipek June Heston Respectfully submitted,

Karen Carr, Executive Assistant