About Us

The statutory purpose of the  Department of Public Safety is to promote the detection and prevention of crime, to participate in searches for lost and missing persons, and to assist in cases of statewide or local disasters or emergencies. In order to carry out this purpose the Department is organized into five divisions,: the Vermont State Police, Vermont Emergency Management, Vermont Crime Information Center, Vermont Forensics Lab, and the Division of Safety.

State Police

The Vermont State Police consists of 327 sworn members, approximately 90 emergency communication dispatchers and civilian support staff. Every day members make a difference in the safety of Vermonters and visitors alike.

Vermont Emergency Management

Vermont Emergency Management (VEM) provides aid and support to Vermont’s Local Emergency Management Directors, Local Emergency Planning Committees, Regional Planning Commissions, Community Emergency Response Teams, state agencies, and emergency response providers.

Fire Safety

The multi-faceted mission of the Division of Fire Safety is to protect the public and the fire service with coordinated efforts in code enforcement, fire service training, public education, hazardous materials and incident investigation thereby reducing the loss of life and property due to fire and other emergencies in the State of Vermont.

Criminal Justice Services

Welcome to the Division of Criminal Justice Services. Criminal Justice Services is a Division within the Department of Public Safety whose primary purpose can be summarized through two words - information and technology. We see our role as providing information through the use of technology.

Contact Information

Department of Public Safety
45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671
TTY/TDD 888-545-7598

Employee Directory

Parking Map

Public Records Requests:

Click here for state public records database