Home Page

The statutory purpose of the Department of Public Safety is to promote the detection and prevention of crime, to participate in searches for lost and missing persons, and to assist in cases of statewide or local disasters or emergencies. In order to carry out this purpose the Department is organized into six divisions: the Vermont State Police, Vermont Emergency Management, Vermont Crime Information Center, Radio Technology Services, Vermont Forensics Lab, and the Division of Fire Safety.

Vermont School Safety Center

Visit the Vermont School Safety Center

The Vermont School Safety Center offers best practices and recommendations on how to keep your school safe.

The mission of Vermont Emergency Management  is to ensure the state’s resilience to disasters.

The Division of Fire Safety provides a number of services related to the safety of residents and visitors. 


Radio Technology ServicesThe Radio Technology Services plans, designs, installs, and maintains the voice & data communication systems used by the Department of Public Safety.

The Vermont State Police is a full-service law enforcement agency that provides primary law enforcement services to approximately 200 towns. 

VCIC encompasses the criminal record repository, sex offender registry, crime statistics, fingerprint processing, and marijuana registry. 

The VFL is the only forensic laboratory in the State of Vermont and provides services to the entire criminal justice system

The Vermont Homeland Security Unit administers the Homeland Security Grant Program for the State of Vermont. Funding is provided by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

The Vermont Intelligence Center's goal is to identify patterns and indicators of criminal and terrorism-related activity in the state.

Contact Information

Department of Public Safety
45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671
TTY/TDD 888-545-7598

Employee Directory

Public Records Requests:

Click here for state public records database